1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Factory reset in Android phones leaves sensitive user data behind

Discussion in 'Network World' started by RSS, May 22, 2015.

  1. RSS

    RSS New Member Member

    It’s common sense to reset an Android phone to its factory state before selling or disposing of it. But beware, researchers recently found that this often fails to properly wipe all sensitive user data from the device.

    A test on 21 second-hand smartphones running Android versions between 2.3.x (Gingerbread) and 4.3 (Jelly Bean) revealed that it’s possible to recover emails, text messages, Google access tokens and other sensitive data after the factory reset function had been used.

    The study was done by researchers Laurent Simon and Ross Anderson from the University of Cambridge in the U.K. on used devices bought from eBay between January and May 2014. The devices included models from Samsung Electronics, HTC, LG Electronics, Motorola and three from Google’s Nexus line of phones.

    To read this article in full or to leave a comment, please click here

    Continue reading...

Share This Page